Go to Content
Columbia College Chicago
LAS Advising Resources
LAS banner final.jpg

LAS Advising Resources


ADVISORS FOR LAS INITATIVES

Faculty Advising
Andrew Whatley: awhatley@colum.edu or 312.369.7261

LAS Interdisciplinary Majors

Dr. Neil Pagano: npagano@colum.edu or 312.369.8218

Undergraduate Research Mentorship Initiative (URMI)
Andrew Whatley: awhatley@colum.edu or 312.369.7261

English as a Second Language / International Students   
Dr. Suzanne Blum Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111

Honors Program
Dr. Neil Pagano: npagano@colum.edu or 312.369.8218


ADVISORS FOR LAS CORE CURRICULUM

Biological Sciences
Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Berg: edavisberg@colum.edu or 312.369.7395                       

Chemistry
Dr. Beatrix Büdy: bbudy@colum.edu or 312.369.7371                     

Developmental Math
Dr. Weihua Li: wli@colum.edu or 312.369.3256

Earth Sciences                                 
Dr. Gerald Adams: gadams@colum.edu or 312.369.7540

English as a Second Language          
Dr. Suzanne Blum-Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111

First-Year Seminar                                   
Dr. Michael Lawrence: mlawrence@colum.edu or 312.369.3254

First-Year Writing (Writing & Rhetoric)          
Dr. Pegeen Reichert Powell: preichertpowell@colum.edu or 312.369.8231

History
Dr. Teresa Prados-Torreira: tprados-torreira@colum.edu or 312.369.7567                            

Humanities
Dr. Carmelo Esterrich: cesterrich@colum.edu or 312.369.7525   

Languages
Regina Wellner: rwellner@colum.edu or 312.369.7891
Oscar Valdez: ovaldez@colum.edu or 312.369.7690

Literature
Dr. Terence Brunk: tbrunk@colum.edu or 312.369.8107

Mathematics          
Ann Hanson: ahanson@colum.edu or 312.369.7442

Oral Expression (Speech)
Dr. Mark Withrow: mwithrow@colum.edu or 312.369.8104

Physics
Dr. Pan Papacosta: ppapacosta@colum.edu or 312.369.7443

Social Sciences
Dr. Andrew Causey: acausey@colum.edu or 312.369.7239

For a complete list of the coordinators in the Department of Science and Mathematics, please click here.

ADVISORS FOR LAS GRADUATE PROGRAMS 

Art Education (K-12) and Elementary Education (K-9)
Sheila Brady: sbrady@colum.edu or at 312.369.8147

Fiction
Devon Polderman: dpolderman@colum.edu or 312.369.8875

Nonfiction
Joshua Young: joyoung@colum.edu or 312.369.8819

Poetry
Joshua Young: joyoung@colum.edu or 312.369.8819

ADVISORS FOR LAS MAJORS 

Art and Materials Conservation
Dr. Michael Welsh: mwelsh@colum.edu or 312.369.7534  

ASL-English Interpretation

Carly Flagg: cflagg@colum.edu or 312.369.7218

Cultural Studies
Dr. Steven Corey: scorey@colum.edu or 312.369.7844

Early Childhood Education

Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187

Fiction 
Devon Polderman: dpolderman@colum.edu or 312.369.8875

Nonfiction
Joshua Young: joyoung@colum.edu or 312.369.8819

Poetry
Joshua Young: joyoung@colum.edu or 312.369.8819


ADVISORS FOR LAS MINORS

American Sign Language Studies
Carly Flagg: cflagg@colum.edu or 312.369.7218

Black World Studies
Dr. Glennon Graham: ggraham@colum.edu or 312.369.7294

Creative Nonfiction
Dr. David Lazar: dlazar@colum.edu or 312.369.8835

Cultural Studies
Dr. Steven Corey: scorey@colum.edu or 312.369.7844

Education
Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187

Environmental Studies
Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Berg: edavisberg@colum.edu or 312.369.7395

Latino and Latin American Studies
Dr. Wilfredo Cruz: wcruz@colum.edu or 312.369.7533

Literature
Dr. Terence Brunk: tbrunk@colum.edu or 312.369.8107

Mathematics
Dr. Weihua Li: wli@colum.edu or 312.369.3256

Poetry
Dr. Lisa Fishman: lfishman@colum.edu or 312.369.8225

Professional Writing
Dr. Suzanne Blum Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111

The Teaching Artist
Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187

Women’s and Gender Studies
Dr. RoseAnna Mueller: rmueller@colum.edu or 312.369.7532

LAS MENTORS


A step beyond course advising, these faculty members in the School of LAS serve as trusted teachers and mentors.

Dr. Suzanne Blum Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111
Dr. Ames Hawkins: ahawkins@colum.edu or 312.369.8149
Dr. Gerald Adams: gadams@colum.edu 312.369.7540

For all other questions related to the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, please contact the Office of the Dean in the School of LAS at 312.369.6989.