Go to Content
Columbia College Chicago
LAS Advising Resources
LAS banner final.jpg

LAS Advising Resources


Faculty members and staff in the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences at Columbia are available to you for guidance regarding our courses or to help you with any questions you have about the college in general. Further, if you have any specific questions about any of the majors, minors, programs, initiatives, or the LAS Core Curriculum in the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We’re all here to help!

Best wishes for your success,

Deborah H. Holdstein, PhD
Dean, School of Liberal Arts and Sciences


ADVISORS FOR LAS INITATIVES

Faculty Advising and LAS Initiatives
Andrew Whatley: awhatley@colum.edu or 312.369.7261

LAS Interdisciplinary Major

Dr. Neil Pagano: npagano@colum.edu or 312.369.8218

Undergraduate Research Mentorship Initiative (URMI)
Andrew Whatley: awhatley@colum.edu or 312.369.7261

English as a Second Language / International Students   
Suzanne Blum-Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111

Honors Program
Dr. Neil Pagano: npagano@colum.edu or 312.369.8218


ADVISORS FOR LAS CORE CURRICULUM

Biological Sciences
Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Berg: edavisberg@colum.edu or 312.369.7395                       

Chemistry
Dr. Beatrix Büdy: bbudy@colum.edu or 312.369.7371                     

Developmental Math
Dr. Weihua Li: wli@colum.edu or 312.369.3256

Earth Sciences                                 
Dr. Gerald Adams: gadams@colum.edu or 312.369.7540

English as a Second Language          
Suzanne Blum-Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111

First-Year Seminar                                   
Miranda Zent: mzent@colum.edu or 312.369.6934

First-Year Writing (Writing & Rhetoric)          
Dr. Kilian McCurrie: mmccurrie@colum.edu or 312.369.8232

History
Dr. Erin McCarthy: emccarthy@colum.edu or 312.369.7296                                               

Humanities
Dr. Steve Asma: sasma@colum.edu or 312.369.7583

Languages
Regina Wellner: rwellner@colum.edu or 312.369.7891
Oscar Valdez: ovaldez@colum.edu or 312.369.7690

Literature
Dr. Terence Brunk: tbrunk@colum.edu or 312.369.8107

Mathematics          
Ann Hanson: ahanson@colum.edu or 312.369.7442

Oral Expression (Speech)
Dr. Mark Withrow: mwithrow@colum.edu or 312.369.8104

Physics
Dr. Pan Papacosta: ppapacosta@colum.edu or 312.369.7443

Social Sciences
Dr. Joan Erdman: jerdman@colum.edu or 312.369.7530

For a complete list of the coordinators in the Department of Science and Mathematics, please click here.

ADVISORS FOR LAS GRADUATE PROGRAMS 

Art Education (K-12) and Elementary Education (K-9)
Sheila Brady: sbrady@colum.edu or at 312.369.8147

Creative Writing – Nonfiction
Jenny Boully: jboully@colum.edu or 312.369.8109

Creative Writing – Poetry
Dr. Lisa Fishman: lfishman@colum.edu or 312.369.8225

ADVISORS FOR LAS MAJORS 

Art and Materials Conservation
Dr. Michael Welsh: mwelsh@colum.edu or 312.369.7534  

ASL-English Interpretation

Carly Flagg: cflagg@colum.edu or 312.369.7218

Creative Writing – Nonfiction
Garnett Kilberg-Cohen: gkilberg-cohen@colum.edu or 312.369.8102

Creative Writing – Poetry
Dr. Lisa Fishman: lfishman@colum.edu or 312.369.8225

Cultural Studies
Dr. Jaafar Aksikas: jaksikas@colum.edu or 312.369.8667

Early Childhood Education

Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187


ADVISORS FOR LAS MINORS

American Sign Language Studies
Carly Flagg: cflagg@colum.edu or 312.369.7218

Black World Studies
Dr. Glennon Graham: ggraham@colum.edu or 312.369.7294

Creative Nonfiction
Dr. David Lazar: dlazar@colum.edu or 312.369.8835

Cultural Studies
Dr. Jaafar Aksikas: jaksikas@colum.edu or 312.369.8667

Education
Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187

Environmental Studies
Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Berg: edavisberg@colum.edu or 312.369.7395

Latino and Latin American Studies
Dr. Wilfredo Cruz: wcruz@colum.edu or 312.369.7533

Literature
Dr. Terence Brunk: tbrunk@colum.edu or 312.369.8107

Mathematics
Dr. Weihua Li: wli@colum.edu or 312.369.3256

Poetry
Dr. Lisa Fishman: lfishman@colum.edu or 312.369.8225

Professional Writing
Garnett Kilberg-Cohen: gkilberg-cohen@colum.edu or 312.369.8102

The Teaching Artist
Angela Fowler: afowler@colum.edu or 312.369.8187

Women’s and Gender Studies
Dr. RoseAnna Mueller: rmueller@colum.edu or 312.369.7532

LAS MENTORS


A step beyond course advising, these faculty members in the School of LAS serve as trusted teachers and mentors.

Suzanne Blum-Malley: sbmalley@colum.edu or 312.369.8111
Dr. Ames Hawkins: ahawkins@colum.edu or 312.369.8149
Dr. Gerald Adams: gadams@colum.edu 312.369.7540

For all other questions related to the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, please contact the Office of the Dean in the School of LAS at 312.369.6989.