Go to Content
Columbia College Chicago
Columbia College Chicago Assembly
Print this PageEmail this Page

Columbia College Chicago Assembly

The Columbia College Chicago Assembly is an information sharing body, a think tank, empowering the college community through knowledge, dialogue and counsel.  The Assembly provides opportunities for a shared voice on significant issues, both internal and external, that have impact on the College.  The College Assembly will consist, at a minimum, of one presentation followed by an in-depth, lively discussion of the topic.  All attendees will be encouraged to participate in the conversation in an effort to reach mutual understanding.

Have a topic you wish Columbia would discuss?  Email the Columbia College Chicago Assembly Presiding Committee at assembly@colum.edu.

Next Assembly:

Teaching and Learning in the Social Media Era
With speakers Sean Johnson Andrews and Jackie Spinner
Wednesday, April 16
11:00 am to 12:00 pm
Hoken Lecture Hall
Room 109, 623 South Wabash

A "show, tell and do" utilizing various social media sites to demonstrate how social media technology has changed everything and if approached with enthusiasm, can provide an opportunity for remarkable innovation in pedagogy. Those who attend should bring Internet assessable devices to enhance moments for social media participation.

Presiding Committee
The Presiding Committee of the Assembly represents the constituencies of the Columbia College Chicago community, and is responsible for planning, executing and moderating each Assembly as well as disseminating information to the college community. Assemblies may result in recommendations to the College Administration concerning policy and procedure, if deemed appropriate by the Presiding Committee.


  • Abby Cress, student representative
  • Hope Daniels (non-voting)
  • Theodore Harwood (committee staff)
  • Kirk Irwin, part-time faculty representative
  • Louise Love (non-voting, ex-officio)
  • Susan Padveen, faculty representative (committee co-chair)
  • Carol Rozansky, chair representative
  • Louis Silverstein, faculty representative (committee chair)
  • Lauren Targ, staff representative
  • Kara Vana, student representative
  • Kimberly Weatherly, staff representative
  • Etta Worthington, part-time faculty representative


The Assembly was approved as the successor to the former College Council by a vote at the final Council meeting on November 4, 2011.  The academic functions and tasks of the Council were assumed by the Faculty Senate.