Honors Program

Honors Research Award

The Honors Research Award recognizes Honors students who conduct outstanding research and writing in an Honors course. The Office of the Dean in the School of Liberal Arts and Sciences, in collaboration with the college’s Library, offers the award annually to undergraduate students at the end of the academic year. 

Submission guidelines and requirements

  • Research writing must be completed in an Honors course during either the fall or spring semester
  • The submitted work must be at least 1,250 words (not including bibliography and citations)
  • Any style standards required in the course should be followed (MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, etc.)
  • The submitted work must be formatted as follows: double spaced; 12-point font; 1” margins; header or footer on every page with page number; and title
  • Evidence of incorporation of research into the work is required
  • Organization, clarity of thought, and overall quality of work will be evaluated
  • Quality of resources used will be considered, including any or all of the following: books or portions of books; scholarly (peer-reviewed) journal articles of at least five pages each; popular periodical articles; high-quality Web sites; archives and special collections; and other resources, including liner notes, interviews, field notes, digital collections, etc

Deadline and prizes

The deadline to submit your paper is the last Friday of the academic year at midnight. The First Place award is $250, and the Honorable Mention award is $100. Winners will be notified by email before the end of June. The winning work, as well as the author’s name, major, and the title of the work, will be publicized, with the research document itself housed in the college archives.

How to submit your paper

Submit the following electronically to honorsresearchaward@colum.edu:

  • Research writing, including bibliography, attached to an email with the author’s name, full contact information, and the name of the course for which the research, writing, or term paper was completed
  • A copy of the original instructions for the assignment

Former winners

Fall 2013/Spring 2014

First Place: Emma-Claire LaSaine (Fiction '17). Her paper, “Angel or Poet: Education, Marriage, and the Woman Question in Victorian Poetry,” written for Dr. Kenneth Daley's Honors course "Victorian Illustrated Poetry," examines the Domestic Angel in Victorian-era poetry. 

Second Place: Trevor McCulloch (Cinema Art + Science '15). His paper, “Blurred Lines: Socially Engaged Art and Performative Spectatorship,” written for Amy Mooney's Honors course "The Art of Civic Engagement," examines participatory art shows and how they can be both confrontational and inclusive.

Fall 2012/Spring 2013

First Place: Emily Graves (Film & Video '15). Her paper,
“Symbolism in Sunnydale: the Complex Characters and Monstrous Metaphors of Buffy the Vampire Slayer," written for Annette Dolph's Honors course "Writing and Rhetoric II," analyzed the themes and character archetypes at work in the popular television series.

Second Place: Brianna Baurichter (Fine Arts, '13). Her paper, “Paris/New York: 20th Century Shifts,” written for Dr. Dominic Pacyga's Honors course "History of the American City" defines the role of art, architecture, and design in New York's rise to prominence. 

Fall 2011/Spring 2012

First Place: Scarlet Sheppard (Theatre ’14). Her paper, “The Actor’s Emotional Mind,” written for Dr. Rami Gabriel’s Honors course “Emotions,” explored Konstantin Stanislavsky’s Method through the lens of Emotional Intelligence and Emotional Management and made connections between the science of psychology and the creative process of acting.

Second Place: Steven Haas (Television ’12). His paper, “Fairness and Justice in the Affordable Care Act,” written for Dr. Rojat Avsar’s Honors course “Economic Policies, Morality, and Ideology,” analyzed the Affordable Care Act (aka, Obamacare) through varied (and sometimes conflicting) schools of ethical thought.

Fall 2010/Spring 2011

First Place: Zachary Berinstein (Music ’12). His paper, “Music and Participation: Contemporary Modes of Musical Engagement,” addressed the various ways we engage in music, how this engagement changes over time, and how musical communities are formed.

Second Place: Sarah Kaddatz (Audio Arts and Acoustics ’13). Her paper, "Julius Moessel and The Story of Food Plants,” explored the work of artist Julius Moessel, with a particular focus on a mural he created for the Field Museum in Chicago.