Newly Tenured Faculty Members Announced

Image of Columbia College Chicago campusPhoto: Phil Dembinski '08
The Office of the Provost announced six faculty members achieved the rank of tenure.

On March 22, Interim Senior Vice President and Provost Suzanne Blum Malley sent an announcement to the Columbia College Chicago community announcing the newly tenured faculty members for 2019.

From the announcement:

I have the distinct privilege of recognizing the outstanding contributions our faculty have made to their fields and to the Columbia community through the tenure process. Achieving tenure is a significant career milestone, and an intensive and rigorous process that occurs over a six-year period in which faculty candidates are assessed by many individuals, including external reviewers, department colleagues, chairs, deans, and the All-College Tenure Committee (ACTC). I’d like to extend my gratitude to reviewers at all levels for their diligence in evaluating the applications.

It was a tremendous pleasure to review the achievements of our newly tenured colleagues and to look forward to the ways in which they will continue to enrich our community. Please join me in congratulating them! 
This year, I’m pleased to announce six new additions to our tenured faculty ranks:

CM Burroughs, MFA
English and Creative Writing
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Greg Corness, PhD
Interactive Arts and Media
School of Media Arts

Jessica Jacobs, MFA
Business and Entrepreneurship
School of Fine and Performing Arts

Susan Kerns, PhD
Cinema and Television Arts
School of Media Arts

Hilary Sarat-St. Peter, PhD
English and Creative Writing
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Michelle Yates, PhD
Humanities, History, and Social Sciences
School of Liberal Arts and Sciences