Spring Splash Celebrates Student Work and Expertise of Columbia Alums

CTVA Spring Splash Student Showcase: Script Launch, Shorts & Series Launch, and Written Image winners.CTVA Spring Splash Student Showcase: Script Launch, Shorts & Series Launch, and Written Image winners.
Columbia College Chicago’s Spring Splash student showcase and panel discussions offered valuable experiences for students and provided an opportunity for alums to share industry insights.

This year’s Spring Splash was a resounding success, says Missy Hernandez, assistant professor in Cinema and Television Arts (CTVA) and an organizer of the event. At the April 8 in-person Spring Splash event, the Columbia community enjoyed a showcase featuring the winners of Annual Written Image Screenwriting Competition along with finalists for the CTVA Script Launch and CTVA Shorts and Series Launch (see full winner list below). And on April 9, Columbia hosted two panel discussions Making A First Feature (panelists included Columbia alums Ayesha Abouelazm MFA ’17, Kseni Avonavi MFA ’19, Brad Bischoff ’09, and  Ben Hicks ’03) and Finding Your Way In The Industry (panelists were Columbia alums Hannah Rosner ’09, Lucas Lee Graham ’06, Chloe Herring MFA ’21, and Joel Boyd ’14).

“It is wonderful to see this program grow and gain enthusiasm from the Columbia College Community and Alumni network. The looks on the students faces after seeing their work with an audience on the big screen or hearing their words performed aloud by real actors for the first time, was priceless,” Hernandez says. “The candid wisdom and wealth of advice shared on the panels has been met with gratitude and inspiration.”

On behalf of CTVA and the Development and Alumni Relations, Hernandez thanks all the organizers and participants, including the event’s judges: Toy Monique Hawkins MFA ’17, Whitney Wetta ’11, Crystal Holt MFA ’10, Hannah Rosner ’09, Johnny Derango ’02, Lucas Lee Graham ’06, Sarah Schroeder ’00, Sean Joseph Salazar Jourdan MFA ’09, Brad Bischoff ’09, and Lola Mosanya MFA ’21.

Here is list of those students whose work was recognized at the April 8 event:


Television Pilot

  • In the Making - Zelda Sidener

Short Film

  • (Fear Is) Yet A Stranger Grave to Tend - Arya Woody
  • Eulogies- Portia Lannak

Television Spec

  • Mac’s Gay Excursion—It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia - Brittany Handel


First place

  • How to Return Home -Written by Angelina Napoleone

Second Place

  • IRL - Written by Reese Taylor Givens



  • Crime Advisory - Written and directed by Kateryna Sazonova


  • Walk My Dog - Written and directed by Cam Lewis


  • Behind You - Written and directed by Beth Ashby

Experimental Documentary

  • Amidst Pigeons - Written and directed by Shiloh Washington


  • Where Monsters Lurk - Produced by Lindy Stokes written and directed by Beth Ashby


Student Features

First Place

  • How to Return Home - Written by Angelina Napoleone

Second Place

  • IRL - Written by Reese Taylor Givens

Third Place

  • Honeysuckle - Written by Taylor Pike

Honorable Mention

  • Saints - Written by Reese Taylor Givens

Student Shorts

First Place

  • The Last Living Woman in The Bronx - Written by Yanni Chisolm

Second Place

  • To the Grave - Written by Olivia Weintraub

Third Place

  • If Found - Written by Reese Taylor Givens

Honorable Mention Student Short

  • Overtime - Written by Branden Smith