The Efroymson Creative Writing Reading Series

The Efroymson Creative Writing Reading Series at Columbia College Chicago is one of the most dynamic, aesthetically diverse events of its kind in the city. Hosted by the English and Creative Writing Department, the series attracts prestigious, award-winning fiction writers, poets, and nonfiction writers who perform, engage, and educate on a myriad of topics and traditions.

The series is committed to curating critically engaged contemporary works that challenge traditional discourse and embrace culturally relevant, diverse voices. Our unique connection to the vibrant cultural and educational district in the South Loop sets the stage for some of the most fascinating, inspiring, and influential conversations on the literary arts.

All events are free and open to the public, taking place on campus and online via Zoom.

Fall 2023 events:

Spring 2024 events:

  • February 20, Richard Meier and Tony Trigilio 
    5:00 p.m.
    1104 S. Wabash, 1st Floor, Conway Center or join virtual session 

If you are interested in attending, please email for more information.

  • Featured Faculty Videos
  • Featured Student Videos
  • Past Speakers

    Past speakers of Columbia College Chicago's Creative Writing Reading Series include: 

    • Lindsay Hunter
    • Matthew Rohrer
    • Benjamin Balint
    • Sue Sinclair
    • Mort Castle
    • Daniel Kraus
    • Ingrid Rojas Contreras
    • Durga Chew-Bose
    • Dan Chaon
    • Daniel Harris
    • David Lazar
    • Mickey Hess
    • Hamilah Marcus
    • Jac Jemc
    • Jenny Boully
    • Meg Day
    • Mary Gaitskill
    • T. J. Jarrett
    • Camille T. Dungy
    • Sharon Solwitz
    • David Trinidad
    • Desiree Cooper
    • Ishion Hutchinson
    • Patricia Ann McNair
    • Bonnie Jo Campbell
    • Joe Meno
    • Nina Revoyr
    • John Gallaher
    • Nickole Brown
    • Aleksandar Hemon
    • Aviya Kushner
    • Joshua Clover
    • T Clutch Fleischmann
    • Adam Johnson
    • Ruth Ellen Kocher
    • Douglas Kearney
    • Chris Offutt
    • Kwame Dawes
    • John D’Agata
    • Mary Ruefle
    • Maggie Nelson
    • Bernadette Mayer
    • Carmen Giménez Smith
    • Peter Gizzi
    • Mary Ruefle