Columbia College Chicago Offers New Scholarship to Transfer Students from Chicago-Area Community Colleges

Chicagoland Transfer Award provides eligible students one full-tuition scholarship, ten individual scholarships of $10,000, all with annual renewal--Applications open May 4; Deadline June 15

CHICAGO (May 4, 2018)Columbia College Chicago is offering a new scholarship for students who are looking to transfer from community colleges across Chicagoland to Columbia and pursue studies in creative and media arts, liberal arts, and business. The new Chicagoland Transfer Award allows 11 students from participating community colleges to compete and apply for one full-tuition scholarship and 10 new $10,000 scholarships, which are all renewable annually. Applications open on May 4.

“Many transfer students from the Chicagoland area have proven academic skills that have prepared them for success at Columbia,” said Stan Wearden, senior vice president and provost at Columbia. “The new Chicagoland Transfer Award will help community college students experience Columbia’s dynamic, experiential, and relevant offerings. The Award is among several scholarships Columbia offers, and we encourage applicants to take advantage of this opportunity.”

Columbia offers more than $4 million in scholarships to transfer students annually, averaging more than $5,250 for those receiving institutional scholarships. Students who apply for, but do not receive, the Chicagoland Transfer Award will automatically be considered for the additional available scholarships. Transfer students also have access to additional financial aid, including Phi Theta Kappa scholarships and Pell and MAP grants.

To be eligible for the Chicagoland Transfer Award, applicants must have completed a minimum of 45 college-level credit hours, maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA), and been enrolled at an eligible community college during the Spring 2018 or Summer 2018 term. A scholarship essay must be submitted by logging on to the admissions status page. Applicants must meet all eligibility criteria by the scholarship application deadline of June 15, 2018, to be considered for the Award. Further information about the Award is available at:

A committee will review and score applications based on the student’s academic achievement and the quality of the essay. Applicants will be notified of the decision by July 15, 2018. For questions about the scholarship and the application process, contact

The following is a list of community colleges at which applicants must be enrolled during the Spring 2018 or Summer 2018 terms:

  • College of DuPage
  • Elgin Community College
  • College of Lake County
  • Harold Washington College
  • Harry S. Truman College
  • Joliet Junior College
  • Kennedy-King College
  • Malcolm X College
  • McHenry County College
  • Moraine Valley Community College
  • Morton College
  • Oakton Community College
  • Olive-Harvey College
  • Prairie State College
  • Richard J. Daley College
  • South Suburban College
  • Triton College
  • Waubonsee Community College
  • Wilbur Wright College
  • William Rainey Harper College


Columbia College Chicago is a private, nonprofit college offering a distinctive curriculum that blends creative and media arts, liberal arts, and business for nearly 7,500 students in more than 100 undergraduate and graduate degree programs. Dedicated to academic excellence and long-term career success, Columbia College Chicago creates a dynamic, challenging, and collaborative space for students who experience the world through a creative lens. For more information, visit



Anjali Julka