Columbia Alums Tiffany S. Griffith, Nick Shinners, and Aidy Bryant Win at 2020 Emmys

Mario Panagiotopoulos, Caryn Capotosto, Patrik Thelander, Daniel Kibblesmith, Scott Hanson, Johnnie Ingram, Rae Deslich, and Analucia McGorty, are also Columbia College Chicago alumni who were nominated for Emmy awards in 2020.

Columbia College Chicago is pleased to announce that Columbia alums Aidy Bryant ’09, Nick Shinners '18, and Tiffany S. Griffith '92 were honored at the 2020 Emmy Awards for thier respective work as a performer on Saturday Night Live, a segment producer on the Today Show, and a dialogue editor on the Limited Series "Watchmen." Eight other alumni were also honored as nominees for the 2020 Emmy Awards. The nominees, who graduated between 1992 and 2009, represented a plethora of roles in the industry including direction, performance, hosting, costume design, set decoration, production design, camera and dialogue work, writing, and executive producing. Alums were nominated for their work in comedy, sketch comedy, variety and reality shows, limited series work, and non-fiction work.

The following alumni were also nominated for this year's Emmy awards:

  • Outstanding Cinematography for a Reality Program
    • RuPaul's Drag Race
    • Mario Panagiotopoulos '03, Camera Operator
  • Outstanding Hosted Nonfiction Series or Special
    • Ugly Delicious
    • Caryn Copotosto '99, Executive Producer
  • Outstanding Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Series
    • Curb Your Enthusiasm, "The Spite Store"
    • Patrik Thelander '95, Camera
  • Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series
    • The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
    • Daniel Kibblesmith '05, Written by
  • Outstanding Picture Editing for a Nonfiction Program
    • McMillion$, Episode 3
    • Scott Hanson '09, Editor
  • Outstanding Unstructured Reality Program
    • We're Here
    • Johnny Ingram '04, Executive Producer
  • Outstanding Production Design for a Variety, Reality, or Competition Series
    • Drunk History
    • Rae Deslich, Set Decorator
  • Outstanding Period Costumes
    • Pose
    • Analucia McGorty, Costume Designer


Rhiannon Koehler
Communications Manager