'Columbia Chronicle' Wins 31 Awards From Illinois College Press Association

group of columbia students hold up their award certificates
"The Columbia Chronicle" staff wins big and takes home 13 first place awards, including one for DEI coverage.

On February 18, the Illinois College Press Association (ICPA) presented 31 awards to the Columbia Chronicle at its annual ceremony in Chicago. This included first place awards for General Excellence in Print and for DEI coverage.  

Overall, Columbia won 13 first place awards, 9 second place awards, 7 third place awards, 1 fourth place award, and 1 honorable mention, with the Chronicle winning awards in both the open category for all schools and for those in schools with 3,000 to 6,999 students. 

“I am elated to see the Chronicle's work recognized by ICPA. We have an exceptional team, and I am honored to lead it,” says current Editor-in-Chief Olivia Cohen. “Overall, however, we wouldn't be able to see these accomplishments come to light without the people who help us tell these stories. It is a privilege to work in journalism, at the Chronicle, and to have sources tell us their stories. They make this work possible.” 

Congratulations to the Chronicle staff for their excellent work and for helping share these important stories! 

Below is the Chronicle’s full list of ICPA awards for both (* notes open category for all schools): 


First Place 

*Editorial CartoonKayla Macedo  
*Graphic IllustrationKailey Ryan 
EditorialKamy Smelser, K'Von Jackson
Feature Story Olivia Cohen
News StoryCamryn Cutinello, Noah Jennings 
Sports ColumnSamaher AbuRabah 
DEI CoverageStaff  
Spot News Photo Abra Richardson  
Feature Page Design Staff  
Multimedia ReportingStaff  
Podcast - Entertainment & Culture John McGowan  
Sweepstakes Staff 
General Excellence - PrintStaff

Second Place 

Opinion PageIrvin Ibarra, Elias Gonzalez 
ColumnRachel Patel
Headline WritingStaff
Photo Essay Staff
Sports PhotoSam Tucker
General News PhotoK'Von Jackson
Front Page LayoutStaff
Feature Page DesignStaff
General Excellence – WebStaff

Third Place 

ColumnNathan Sirkin  
Feature StoryAnna Busalacchi 
In-Depth ReportingCamryn Cutinello, Noah Jennings 
Feature Photo Abra Richardson 
Spot News PhotoK'Von Jackson  
Multimedia ReportingElizabeth Rymut, Peter Midwa, Abra Richardson  
Podcast – News John McGowan  

Fourth Place 

*NewsletterAnna Busalacchi, Noah Jennings 

Honorable Mention  

*Critical Review (other than film)Avery Timmons