Academic Calendar

This page provides an overview of Columbia College Chicago's academic calendar for the current and upcoming terms. For the full academic calendar, including sub-session information, please visit the Registrar's website.

Fall Semester 2016

Labor Day holiday Monday, September 5
Semester begins Tuesday, September 6
Add Deadline (Last day to add or change courses) Monday, September 12
Drop Deadline (Last day to drop courses) Monday, September 19
Withdrawal Deadline (Last day to withdraw from courses) Monday, October 31
Thanksgiving Thursday, November 24 - Sunday, November 27
Semester Ends Saturday, December 17

January Session 2017

Session begins Tuesday, January 3
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday Monday, January 16
Session ends Saturday, January 21

Spring Semester 2017

Semester begins Monday, January 23
Add Deadline (Last day to add or change courses) Saturday, January 28
Drop Deadline (Last day to drop courses) Saturday, February 4
Withdrawal Deadline (Last day to withdraw from courses) Saturday, March 18
Spring break Monday, March 20 - Saturday, March 25
Semester ends Saturday, May 13
Commencement Saturday, May 13 and Sunday, May 14

Summer Session 2017

Session begins Monday, May 22
Add Deadline Varies by sub-session. See Registrar Important Dates
Drop Deadline Varies by sub-session. See Registrar Important Dates
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 29
Withdrawal Deadline Varies by sub-session. See Registrar Important Dates
Independence Day holiday Monday, July 3 and Tuesday, July 4
Session ends Saturday, August 12

Fall Semester 2017

Labor Day holiday Monday, September 4
15-week semester begins Tuesday, September 5
Add deadline, 15-week semester Monday, September 11
Drop deadline, 15-week semester Monday, September 18
Withdrawal deadline, 15-week semester Monday, October 30
Thanksgiving break Thursday, November 23 – Sunday, November 26
Semester ends Saturday, December 16

Spring Semester 2018

January session begins Tuesday, January 2
Registration deadlines vary by sub-session. See colum.edu/Registrar for details.
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day holiday Monday, January 15
15-week semester begins Monday, January 22
Add deadline, 15-week semester Saturday, January 27
Drop deadline, 15-week semester Saturday, February 3
Withdrawal deadline, 15-week semester Saturday, March 17
Spring break Monday, March 19 – Saturday, March 24
Semester ends Friday, May 11
Commencement exercises (no classes) Saturday, May 12 and Sunday, May 13

Summer Session 2018

Summer session begins Monday, May 21
Registration deadlines vary by sub-session. See colum.edu/Registrar for details.
Memorial Day holiday Monday, May 28
Independence Day holiday Wednesday, July 4
Session ends Saturday, August 11