Columbia College Chicago Library's Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Ceremony

The Columbia community is invited to attend the celebration of the Columbia College Chicago Library’s Excellence in Academic Libraries Award from the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) held Thursday, April 27, 2017 from 4:30–7:30 p.m. in the Library. This award recognizes the staff of a college, university, or community college library for programs that deliver exemplary services and resources to further the educational mission of the institution. Columbia’s Library was selected as the winner of the college category for its creative ways of engaging with the campus community. 

Karen A. Williams, chair of the 2017 Excellence in Academic Libraries Committee, had this to say about Columbia’s application: “The Columbia College Chicago Library is a very different kind of college library. It is reflective of student culture and creativity, and experimentation and innovative thinking are paramount….We also appreciated that all of their programming encourages conversation and interaction among its diverse, vibrant population. It is a creative and intellectual center for students, faculty, and the broader community alike.”

During the program, library staff will be on each floor to welcome attendees and to show what makes Columbia's library so special. In the tradition of the library’s inclusion of student culture in their programming, the celebration will include comedy performances, art exhibits, readings, and music performances by Columbia students. The Center for Black Music Research will also be participating with performances on the 6th floor of 618 S. Michigan Ave.

The award ceremony will begin at 6 p.m. in the 3rd floor North Reading Room. ACRL President Irene M. H. Herold, University Librarian at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa, will present the award to the Library.

Excellence in Academic Libraries Award Ceremony
Thursday, April 27
4:30–7:30 p.m.
Columbia College Chicago Library
624 S. Michigan Ave.

Award Ceremony: 6 p.m.
North Reading Room, 3rd Floor